Prevent Child Abuse in Wisconsin
What is child abuse and neglect in Wisconsin?
Under Wisconsin law, child neglect means failure, refusal or inability on the part of a caregiver, for reasons other than poverty, to provide necessary care, food, clothing, medical or dental care or shelter so as to seriously endanger the physical health of the child.
- Physical Abuse
- Sexual Abuse
- Emotional Abuse
According to the Child Welfare League of America, there were 4,902 victims of abuse or neglect in Wisconsin in 2017, a rate of 3.8 per 1,000 children. Of these children, 67.4% were neglected, 16.1% were physically abused, and 20.6% were sexually abused.
Who is a mandated reporter according to WI state requirements?
Wisconsin law (48.981(2)) requires mandated reporters to make a report to county CPS or law enforcement:
- Medical examiners
- A medical or mental health professional not otherwise specified in this list
- Social workers
- Marriage & family therapists
- Professional counselors
- Public assistance workers, including a financial and employment planner
- School teachers
- School administrators
- School counselors
- School employees not otherwise specified in this list
- Child-care workers in a child care center, group home, or residential care center for children and youth
- Child care providers
- Alcohol or other drug abuse counselors
- Members of the treatment staff employed by or working under contract with a county department under or a residential care center for children and youth
- Physical therapists
- Physical therapist assistants
- Occupational therapists
- Speech-language pathologists
- Emergency medical technicians
- First responders
- Police or law enforcement officers
- Court-appointed special advocates (CASA)
- Juvenile correctional officers
- University of Wisconsin System (UWS) Professors
- UWS Administrators
- UWS Coaches
- All other UWS Employees
Mandated reporters who intentionally fail to report suspected child abuse or neglect may be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or both.
Mandated reporters can access state sponsored online training.
How do I report child abuse in Wisconsin?
To report a case of child abuse or neglect, contact the county or tribe where the child or child’s family lives. If the agency is not known, contact the closest county.
How do I get free online child abuse training for my organization?
Use the code STAYSAFE to enroll in Creating Safe Environments for Organizations, a free online training class. Leaders in organizations use this free online course to explore child abuse prevention best practices and help prevent child abuse in Wisconsin.
How do I get online child abuse training for myself?
How do I contact the WI Department of Children and Families?
Disclaimer: Please ensure the information and courses meet requirements for your organization and circumstances and align with what your state Department of Children and Families requires. The state requirements and child abuse and human trafficking statistics listed on this page are current as of May 20th, 2021 to meet the best information available. State requirements may change and it is your responsibility to know your state mandated reporter requirements and the process for online child abuse prevention training. Compass Child Protection Training can not guarantee acceptance by your school, organization, or state Department of Children and Families. If there is a child abuse emergency, call 911 immediately.