Prevent Child Abuse in Oregon
What is child abuse and neglect in Oregon?
Under Oregon law, child abuse includes:
- Any assault, as defined in ORS chapter 163, of a child and any physical injury to a child which has been caused by other than accidental means, including any injury which appears to be at variance with the explanation given of the injury.
- Any mental injury to a child, which shall include only observable and substantial impairment of the child’s mental or psychological ability to function caused by cruelty to the child, with due regard to the culture of the child.
- Rape of a child, which includes but is not limited to rape, sodomy, unlawful sexual penetration and incest, as those acts are described in ORS chapter 163.
- Sexual abuse, as described in ORS chapter 163.
- Sexual exploitation, including but not limited to:
- Contributing to the sexual delinquency of a minor, as defined in ORS chapter 163, and any other conduct which allows, employs, authorizes, permits, induces or encourages a child to engage in the performing for people to observe or the photographing, filming, tape recording or other exhibition which, in whole or in part, depicts sexual conduct or contact, as defined in ORS 167.002 or described in ORS 163.665 and 163.670, sexual abuse involving a child or rape of a child, but not including any conduct which is part of any investigation conducted pursuant to ORS 419B.020 or which is designed to serve educational or other legitimate purposes; and
- Allowing, permitting, encouraging or hiring a child to engage in prostitution as described in ORS 167.007 or a commercial sex act as defined in ORS 163.266, to purchase sex with a minor as described in ORS 163.413 or to engage in commercial sexual solicitation as described in ORS 167.008.
- Negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child, including but not limited to the failure to provide adequate food, clothing, shelter or medical care that is likely to endanger the health or welfare of the child.
- Threatened harm to a child, which means subjecting a child to a substantial risk of harm to the child’s health or welfare.
- Buying or selling a person under 18 years of age as described in ORS 163.537.
- Permitting a person under 18 years of age to enter or remain in or upon premises where methamphetamines are being manufactured.
- Unlawful exposure to a controlled substance, as defined in ORS 475.005, or to the unlawful manufacturing of a cannabinoid extract, as defined in ORS 475B.015, that subjects a child to a substantial risk of harm to the child’s health or safety.
According to the Child Welfare League of America, there were 11,070 victims of abuse or neglect in Oregon in 2017, a rate of 12.7 per 1,000 children. Of these children, 56.8% were neglected, 10.5% were physically abused, and 7.9% were sexually abused.
Who is a mandated reporter according to OR state requirements?
Any “public or private official” is a mandated reporter in Oregon:
- Physician or physician assistant licensed under ORS chapter 677 or naturopathic physician, including any intern or resident
- School employee, including an employee of a higher education institution
- Licensed practical nurse, registered nurse, nurse practitioner, nurse’s aide, home health aide or employee of an in-home health service
- Employee of the Department of Human Services, Oregon Health Authority, Early Learning Division, Department of Education, Youth Development Division, Office of Child Care, the Oregon Youth Authority, a local health department, a community mental health program, a community developmental disabilities program, a county juvenile department, a child-caring agency as that term is defined in ORS 418.205 or an alcohol and drug treatment program
- Peace officer
- Member of the clergy
- Regulated social worker
- Certified provider of foster care, or an employee thereof
- Licensed professional counselor
- Licensed marriage and family therapist
- Firefighter or emergency medical services provider
- A court appointed special advocate
- A child care provider
- Member of the Legislative Assembly
- Physical, speech or occupational therapist
- Speech-language pathologist
- Employee of the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission directly involved in investigations or discipline by the commission
- An operator of a preschool
- An operator of a school-age recorded program
- Employee of a private agency or organization facilitating the provision of respite services
- Employee of a public or private organization providing child-related services or activities: Including but not limited to youth groups or centers, scout groups or camps, summer or day camps, survival camps or groups, centers or camps that are operated under the guidance, supervision or auspices of religious, public or private educational systems or community service organizations; and excluding community-based, nonprofit organizations whose primary purpose is to provide confidential, direct services to victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking or human trafficking.
- A coach, assistant coach or trainer of an amateur, semiprofessional or professional athlete, if compensated and if the athlete is a child
- Personal support worker
- Home care worker
- Animal control officer
- Member of a school district board or public charter school governing body
- An individual who is paid by a public body to provide a service identified in an individualized written service plan of a child with a developmental disability.
Here is an online training video for mandatory reporters in Oregon.
How do I report child abuse in Oregon?
Report child abuse to the Oregon Child Abuse 24/7 Hotline by calling 1-855-503-SAFE (7233). You can also report child abuse by calling a local police department, county sheriff, county juvenile department, or Oregon State Police.
How do I get free online child abuse training for my organization?
Use the code STAYSAFE to enroll in Creating Safe Environments for Organizations, a free online training class. Leaders in organizations use this free online course to explore child abuse prevention best practices and help prevent child abuse in Oregon.
How do I get online child abuse training for myself?
How do I contact the OR Department of Human Services?
Disclaimer: Please ensure the information and courses meet requirements for your organization and circumstances and align with what your state Department of Human Services requires. The state requirements and child abuse and human trafficking statistics listed on this page are current as of May 13th, 2021 to meet the best information available. State requirements may change and it is your responsibility to know your state mandated reporter requirements and the process for online child abuse prevention training. Compass Child Protection Training can not guarantee acceptance by your school, organization, or state Department of Human Services. If there is a child abuse emergency, call 911 immediately.