Prevent Child Abuse in Illinois
What is child abuse and neglect in Illinois?
Under Illinois law, child abuse is the mistreatment of a child under the age of 18 by:
- A parent or their romantic partner;
- An immediate relative or someone living in their home;
- A caretaker such as a babysitter or daycare worker; or
- Any person responsible for the child’s welfare, such as a health care provider, educator, coach or youth program volunteer.
The mistreatment can either result in injury or put the child at serious risk of injury. Child abuse can be physical (i.e. bruises or broken bones), sexual (i.e. fondling or incest), or mental (emotional injury or psychological illness).
Neglect is the failure of a parent or caretaker to meet “minimal parenting” standards for providing adequate supervision, food, clothing, medical care, shelter or other basic needs.
According to the Child Welfare League of America, there were 28,751 victims of abuse or neglect in
Illinois, a rate of 9.9 per 1,000 children, in 2017. Of these children, 20,740 were neglected, 5,660
were physically abused, and 4,140 were sexually abused.
Who is a mandated reporter according to IL state requirements?
If you suspect abuse or neglect you have a social responsibility to report it to the hotline. In addition, state law requires that most professionals in education, health care, law enforcement and social work report suspected neglect or abuse. These individuals are called Mandated Reporters.
Mandated reporters include:
Other mandated reporters include supervisors and administrators of general assistance under the Illinois Public Aid Code, social workers, social service administrators, substance abuse treatment personnel, domestic violence program personnel, crisis line or hotline personnel, foster parents, homemakers, recreational program or facility personnel, registered psychologists and assistants working under the direct supervision of a psychologist. Review the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act for a comprehensive list of all mandated reporters in Illinois.
DCFS administers an online training course entitled Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse: Training for Mandated Reporters.
Here are printable mandated reporter posters to hang in schools, police departments, doctor offices, and wherever mandated reporters may work:
Mandated Reporter Poster – Schools
Mandated Reporter Poster – Social Worker
Mandated Reporter Poster – Educators
Mandated Reporter Poster – Police
Mandated Reporter Poster – Medical
Mandated Reporter Poster – Clergy
How do I report child abuse in Illinois?
Call the 24-hour Child Abuse Hotline at 800-25-ABUSE (800-252-2873) if you suspect that a child has been harmed or is at risk of being harmed by abuse or neglect.
In non-emergency situations, anyone may report suspected child abuse or neglect using the new Online Reporting System.
Call the DCFS Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline instead of using the Online Reporting System for situations including but not limited to:
- Current injuries to the child
- Immediate need for medical treatment (including a child who is suicidal)
- Sexual abuse where the involved adult has or will have access to a child within the next 24 hours
- A child is currently afraid to go home
- A child is currently in protective custody of police or medical personnel
- A child death
How do I get free online child abuse training?
Use the code STAYSAFE to enroll in Creating Safe Environments for Organizations, a free online training class. Leaders in organizations use this free online course to explore child abuse prevention best practices and help prevent child abuse in Illinois.
Looking for online child abuse training for individuals?
How do I contact the IL Department of Children and Family Services?
Contact the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
406 East Monroe Street
Springfield, Illinois 62701
Disclaimer: Please ensure the information and courses meet requirements for your organization and circumstances and align with what your state Department of Children and Family Services requires. The state requirements and child abuse and human trafficking statistics listed on this page are current as of May 13th, 2021 to meet the best information available. State requirements may change and it is your responsibility to know your state mandated reporter requirements and the process for online child abuse prevention training. Compass Child Protection Training can not guarantee acceptance by your school, organization, or state Department of Children and Family Services. If there is a child abuse emergency, call 911 immediately.